Speed Date Wedding

I did something a little crazy.   Or maybe not.

My principal asked to teach the new third grade CTT class.  CTT stands for Collaborative Team Teaching.  I would be the general education teacher, and someone else would be the special education teacher.  We would theoretically end up with a class that is 60% high-functioning general education students and 40% students with special needs.  Which would mean I would have a second teacher in the room at all times.  Yay!  But the second person is going to be a new hire.  Booo.  My principal is letting me sit in on interviews.  Yay.  But we’ve only had one so far and it wasn’t so great.  Boo.

Anytime something new happens to me, I need to obsess over it for a few weeks.  So, speaking of yay and boo, let me just do a pro and cons list.  Yes, this is something I should probably be doing on a notepad, rather than a blog, but you guys keep on reading.  So I’ll keep writing, no matter how uninteresting.

Pros of teaching CTT:

1. I could go to the bathroom whenever I want.  Yes.  It sounds trivial, but those of you who work in offices or at home and can slip off to the bathroom when nature calls?  Next time you do that, think of me.  I’ll probably be holding it long enough to screw up my pelvic floor. It might be the single best thing that could come of this situation.

2.  If it is a great teacher that they hire, I can learn a lot about working with kids with special needs.  I don’t know enough about that and in a typical year, I always have one or two kids with special needs even if they have yet to be diagnosed.

3. I wouldn’t ever have to scramble for chaperones on field trips.  We would always have enough adults.

4. Walking up the four flights of stairs to my classroom will be a lot easier with one teacher at the front of the line and another teacher at the end.

5. I could grade half as much homework.  I hate grading homework.  Ooooo!  Half as many report cards!

6. I would get to spend twice as much time conferring with my students.  So I would know them better as learners.

7.  I would have another person who knows my students as well as I do.  Invaluable.

8.  I might teach with someone I like, who makes my life easier and better and more interesting.

9.  I would have another person sitting with me during parent-teacher conferences.

10. I may learn how to make my teaching better, because I will have to be more clear and concise and multi-sensory for my students with IEPs (the special ed ones.)

Cons:

1.  If this person is annoying, it is going to be a loooong year.

2.  Although the class should be 60% high-functioning students, the current third grade CTT does not have that ratio.  I called the principal out on it. Sort of.  In the letter she asked me to write if I wanted the position  I said, “I would like to the the third grade general ed CTT teacher with the understanding that the class will be made up of 60% general education students who were given either a 3 or 4 by their second grade teachers, and that the ratio of general education students to students with IEPs is in compliance.”  I realize that that wasn’t necessarily ummm professional, but I really don’t want to do this if it is not set up to succeed.

3. I’m going to be self-conscious and co-dependent the whole year.  (Maybe.)  And maybe this would be a good time to start therapy.

4. The person they hire is going to have stuff.  And I have stuff.  Too much stuff.  I’m going to have to spend a day in my room purging crap.

5.  Even if the new hire and I become fast friends, we are going to have to spend a lot more time planning than I do now.  Cakie is going to my school next year.  This will require some creative time management.

6. I’m really worried that the person we hire may turn out to be lazy or mean or homophobic or young and flighty, or weird or annoying or disrespectful toward the students.

They say this team teaching is like a marriage. People don’t usually get married after two interviews.  So I’m scared.  I’m excited, but scared.

5 Comments

Filed under teaching

5 responses to “Speed Date Wedding

  1. Lo

    It sounds like a great opportunity!

  2. j

    We are a full inclusion school district and I currently co-teach for at least one class a day. (I teach in a middle school, so I teach the same subject 3 times and then Social Studies). My co-teacher and I were involuntarily transfered to 5th grade at the same tie 3 years ago, so we started together. This helped a lot. Currently (well the school year is over now), our ELA class consisted of 13 IEPed students and 12 regular ed students. Some days we would parrallel co-teach, and other times we would do one of the other forms of co-teaching. It was wonderful that we liked each other so much. We have even taught a seminar on co-teaching at our state conference. I would jump on the opportunity you have, especially if you get to be involved on the interviews. =)

  3. CD

    it’s funny you mention it…i am in line to teach one of my english 1 classes as a co-taught next year. but, with me being gone for 3 months out of the year, that may be off the table. however, i’d love to do it since i love the co-teacher, and of course, this is tots. different since we’re talking ONE co-taught class and not, you know, all day, every day, all year long. yikes. i see the dilemma.

  4. i so wish h could come be your special ed co teacher.
    you would both have the best year ever. she’s really great about facilitating potty breaks too.

  5. Brooklyn is a very nice place to raise a lesbian family… I’m just saying…

Leave a Reply

