Talking Turkey

I am so sorry to bore you like this.  I guess if one is going to blog every day, one ought to think about it for a while before that month happens, so one might have an arsenal of interesting tidbits on which one’s readers can thoughtfully chew.

Me?  I have a clogged pipe.  That’s the big news of the day.  The sink is clogged and it is backing in to the dishwasher.  All of this the week before Thanksgiving, which we will host.

So.  Any advice?  I’m going to call the super and ask if he’ll snake the sink, but I’m a little worried about why the dishwasher isn’t draining.

Also, do any of you have a fabulous and novel recipe for a side dish for turkey day?  My honey asked her facebook friends and they came up with nothing.  I’m sure you guys have something delicious and inspiring in your recipe boxes. Share, please.  🙂

9 Comments

Filed under blogitty blog blog, family

9 responses to “Talking Turkey

  1. CD

    Squash souffle? It tastes like butternut squash dessert. yum.

  2. Go to the new issue of NY Magazine. They had some lovely Thanksgiving recipes and I’m going to try one of the brussel sprouts recipes or the sweet potato gratin. They looked SO yummy!!

  3. Whoops, it’s not the new-new issue. It’s the one with Nancy Pelosi on the cover, last week’s.

  4. Lo

    Pumpkin bread is easy to make and delicious. And I’m a big fan of mashed potatoes but you probably had that figured out.

    Also, hazard of our corner of the blogaverse I suppose, but when you said you had a clogged pipe I did not immediately think of your sink.

    another also, I would like to hear more about this conversion to Judaism; I didn’t know that.

  5. Peanut Soup – the recipe comes from a restaurant at Colonial Williamsburg, and it is incredible.

    The health and safety notes are courtesy of my mom 🙂

    1 cup finely chopped onion
    1 cup finely chopped celery
    ½ stick butter
    3 Tablespoons flour
    2 quarts chicken broth (low salt, low fat)
    2 cups peanut butter (low salt)
    1 ¾ cups cream
    Chopped unsalted peanuts

    In a dutch oven or stock pot, sauté the onion and celery in butter, until soft but not brown (about 8 minutes).

    Stir in flour, stir well until well blended.

    Add broth a little at a time, stirring constantly and bring to a boil.

    Remove from heat and allow to cool.

    Puree a little at a time in blender or food processor. Be careful!

    Add a bit of peanut butter to eat batch in blender until all is added.

    Return to pot, add cream and heat over low heat until hot – but do not boil.

    Serve garnished with chopped peanuts.

  6. Have you looked at the dishwasher manual? In many dishwashers, especially European models, you have to clean the filter basket and some other parts when bits of food accumulate in there. Unless your dishwasher has a built-in garbage disposal (like the one we had in our previous place, which was loud, but rocked), it is likely that you will have to go through this filter/basket/other parts cleaning thing once in a while (unless you are one of those people who pretty much fully washes the dishes before you put them in dishwasher, which I am not). In my experience, effective scraping is the key (scraping, not rinsing). This was a tip I got from a sales guy at the appliance store and it led to far fewer dishwasher floods/backups.

  7. Oh, and for the side dish, you might want to try the fennel gratin recipe from the Balthazar cookbook. It’s kind of a pain to chop the fennel, but otherwise super easy and has gotten good reviews when I’ve served it.

  8. Mmm. I love me some fennel. I feel like I regularly clean the basket, but maybe I’m cleaning the wrong thing.

Leave a Reply

