The Family Cat

I don’t blog much about my cat.

The poor fellow has been all but ignored since Cake first popped onto the scene circa four years ago.  He became visibly alarmed when Trucker came home from the birthing center,  with good cause.  If he was ignored with just one kid, two kids pushed him even further down the family totem pole.

He’s such a sweet guy.  He has only once scratched either of my children and that, in his defense, one time was because Trucker was waving a string in front of him and he was batting at it.  Truck’s hand got in the way.

His full name is Domingo Perezoso Blanco De Marzo Henry [my last name hyphenated with my honey’s last name] Jr.

Domingo Perezoso means Lazy Sunday.  He wasn’t lazy when I first brought him home from the vet where I adopted him 11 years ago.  He was very puppy-like in fact.  I had a long chain made of those little silver balls often used on key chains or as lamp pulls.  We called it crazy string because it made Domingo go crazy with glee.  He played fetch and would chase the crazy string up walls.    He would also chase the other cat, Eli, around the house until she used her powerful chi to subdue him just by staring him down.

Once Eli passed away,  Mingo grew very large and spend a lot more time sleeping.  He started to live up to his name.

IMG_0890

Today I found out that he is really sick.  The vet said he seems to be in renal failure.  He said that he may have eaten something poisonous.    He took blood and told me he’d let me know the prognosis in the morning.  He said it didn’t look good.  He might not make it long enough to get the test reults.

So here I am feeling like a bad cat mommy.  Even though I love him and he loves me.  I put on the air conditioner and we’re sitting here together.  I’m giving him love and petting him.  I don’t need to be told I’m not a bad cat mommy.  I just need to feel like I do right by him from here on out.

8 Comments

Filed under Domingo

8 responses to “The Family Cat

  1. I’m so sorry you are having to go through this. I’ve had cats all my life and have had to put two to sleep in the past 5 years. It’s never easy. Just be there for him and do what you can–which is what you are doing.

  2. Poor baby. I’m sorry he’s not doing well. You’re doing everything you can for him. Don’t be so hard on yourself.

  3. Pet your sweet cat for me. And tell you family to give you a hug from me. I’m so sorry he’s so unwell.

  4. jay

    i’m sorry too. that’s a lovely photo.

  5. oh sweetie, i am so sorry… i love the little (well, big) kitty. i hope that the doctor is wrong. please let me know if there is anything you need. xxoo mulberry

  6. so so sorry. thinking of you.

  7. reproducinggenius

    I hate it when our cats leave us. It sounds like Mingo has been a wonderful cat, and the photo above made me weepy. Wishing you some sweet cuddly moments with your kitty in the coming days.

  8. I am so sorry to hear domingo and I am really sorry I am so late on commenting. I loved him too.

Leave a Reply

