The Book… A Little Phoenixy Thing

I am getting back to the book.

I just had to stop to share with you all that I think it is a little magic how writing to you beautiful strangers about writing or not writing the book makes me write the book.  First, I wanted to write the book.  So I thought I’d just blog about writing it.  The next thing I knew, I was writing the book.  Then, after giving birth, I wasn’t writing it.  So I blogged about not writing it.  That was just what I needed to get back to work.

I really am getting back to work.  Which is why though I really really want to respond to the lovely and flattering post the grrrls over at firsttimesecondtime wrote, I am not going to do so right at this very moment.

I did just want to take a little break to tell you how funny this is.  I went back into my emails on my blog email to try to make sense of the work I’ve already done and to better organize my interviews.  I found SO MANY emails and interviews I was doing on the day before and of my birth.  In one of them, I actually said, “I’ll try to get you those questions today (if I don’t give birth.)”  And I did.  My water broke three hours after I sent that email.  And I never did send that woman the questions.  Not until today.  Just nine little months later.  Maybe I needed another full gestation period to make room for the book.  Even though who, Adrienne Rich or somebody,  says, “A book is not a baby is not a book.”

I need to get back to my interview organizing and apologizing to folks for dropping off the face of the earth.  But I do want to invite any and/or all of you to be interviewed.  My process is slightly lame (by my own standards.)  I do email interviews.  I found trying to get a mom of a toddler on the phone for an hour, when I am also the mom of a toddler, is nearly impossible.  So I started sending the questions via email.  It really doesn’t take much time and can be done at your leisure.  Let me know!  I promise not to give birth in the middle of any more interviews.  Ever.

Love,

ohm

3 Comments

Filed under Labor & Birth, My Book

3 responses to “The Book… A Little Phoenixy Thing

  1. Glad you’re getting back into the thick of it!

  2. Lyn

    Ah, and I think we have a list of e-mail questions from you that we’ve never answered….

  3. reproducinggenius

    I’m so very glad to read this!

    My wife says she would be happy to participate if you need more interviewees.

Leave a Reply

