This Writer’s Block

If you go to the top of my home page, you’ll see a page about my book.  The book I’m supposed to be writing.  Supposed to have written by now, more likely.

We were tweaking the proposal.  Which was really good, but the sample chapter maybe wasn’t the perfect subject matter for a proposal. We were on a roll.  Then it happened.

I gave birth.

That was eight months ago.  Now.  I need a little time off.  I do.  I need to enoy the baby and wrap my head around the existence of said baby.  And the fact that I don’t have to TTC any more.  Ever.  I hope.  But the other thing is that becoming a gestational mom while writing a book about non-gestational co-moms (for lack of a more romantic, less syllabic term) kind of puts a kink in things.  It has been almost impossible to step outside of the biology of my motherhood.  Does that make any sense?  I think, once I get a little more distance from the birth, having given birth will actually make me write a better book.  There are so many things about being a gestational mom that I overlooked before.  Being  the one who did not give birth was mostly awesome (and not in a valley girl way,  in a full-of-awe way) but also difficult emotionally.  Being the one who gave birth was difficult mostly physically.  But because it is also hormonal  and at least for the first year or so, so tied to my mammary glands, it was also emotional in a way over which I feel I have no control.  Now I understand how hard it is to give your partner the time and space she needs with the baby.   I do it. But I also see why some women have a hard time with it.  The funny thing is, my honey is way less sensitive about it than I am.  I guess because I’m “writing the book.”

So that’s it.  For now, I’m writing the book, but I make little quotation marks around it with my fingers when I say it out loud.   I will go back full-force.  It needs to be written.  I need to write it.  For real.

7 Comments

Filed under b00b food, My Book, my hon, my second son, Trucker

7 responses to “This Writer’s Block

  1. Travelher

    I love your writing so much on your blog. I can’t wait to read the book. You’ll get there.

  2. I would think that you have a really wonderful perspective for your book – I look forward to reading it.

  3. CJ

    Kids grow up once. Blink and you miss it. Books can be written any time….but then again, if it brings home the bacon, that is kinda necessary to growin’ the kids!

  4. Lyn

    This inspired a post over at our blog:
    Here is is

    I love reading what you write about your experiences last time with Cackie vs this time with Trucker (which probably has, oh, everything to do with being in almost exactly your shoes as of a year or so ago). I think the breadth of experience can only make the book better (once you get back to it).

  5. reproducinggenius

    I have no doubt that you’ll write the book, and honestly, you ARE “writing the book” even when you’re not. So much of good writing comes in the thinking and experiencing (and sometimes in the not thinking too). My guess is that this time away from it and the perspective you’re gaining will only make for a better book.

    Honestly, I can’t wait to read it.

  6. I hope all is well with you and yours.

    Also, because I’m a dork that way, I’ve given you an award:

    http://whozatshrike.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-got-prize.html

  7. Pingback: Do those hormones really make you hog the baby? — First Time Second Time

Leave a Reply

