The New Me?

When I first heard about blogs, they were introduced to me as a “diary that other people can read.”  This post is a bit of a diary entry.

Dear Diary,

Something has changed in me.  Is it hormonal?  Dear God, it’s me, oneofhismoms.

I’ve always been pretty anxious.  Especially as an adult.

This week, I went back to work after my maternity leave.  Two weeks before this week, I went to South Carolina to visit my out-laws for the holiday.  Sometime in there, my whole psyche shifted.  I’m not crazy anymore.  I mean, not crazy.  I wasn’t mad.  But I was crazed, a bit. This is difficult to describe.  But I’m back at work, I’m not so stressed.  When I went to South Carolina, all the cultural differences that usually bugged me did not.  By cultural differences, I mostly mean disregard for the environment by driving huge cars and eating off of plastic when you don’t need to, and eating waaaay too much unhealthy (but delicious) food.

It is almost as though I’ve taken a step outside of myself.  All the things that overwhelmed me seem smaller, somehow.  Things I couldn’t wrap my whole head around don’t seem so insurmountable.

Perhaps it is because I’ve had six months of rest?  Perhaps I’m too tired to care?  Am I more mature?

Has this happened to any of you?

PS Pix of the geekmobile coming soon.  Um, no it is not a Vespa.

1 Comment

Filed under blogitty blog blog, nothing at all, teaching, working motherhood

One response to “The New Me?

  1. Lyn

    Sort of, at least the post-kid transformation part. I was really struggling with grad school pre-kid #1. Post-kid I turned into a productive student/scientist and finished school. On time. And enjoyed it. Even though I was doing at least half of our daughter’s care at home that year. Very strange. It’s wearing off though. I’m hoping kid #2 has a similar effect. Enjoy your newfound calm.

Leave a Reply

