Going Back

Here it is.

My last day home.

My last getting-in-some-computer-time during morning nap.

Monday I go back to work.  I don’t want to.  I’ve looked forward to this time at home with  my baby all my adult life.  Now it is over.  My friend asked me if there is anything I’m looking forward to about going back to work.

I couldn’t think of anything.

After a few days I came up with a short list:

1. I will get to take my hair out of the pony tail for a few hours a day.

2. I will get to know my new students.

3. I will have the use of both of my hands for a good portion of the day.  (Both hands!  Imagine the possibilities!)

4. Perhaps my back, feet, and neck will stop aching from carrying around my big boy all day.

Ok.  So I thought of four.

Blah.

8 Comments

Filed under working motherhood

8 responses to “Going Back

  1. Oh, the sadness. I hope by Tuesday you can come up with at least five things. This sounds hard.

  2. hugs to you… it is a hard thing you are doing. extra love might be needed to get through the first bits…

  3. Today was actually a good day. I wrote about it here:
    http://www.momtourage.net.

    Monday… I dunno. I think there will be tears.

  4. Co

    I know it’s hard. Will be thinking of you.

  5. Hmm so hard. But here’s to more living room dance parties after school work.
    Will be thinking of you on Monday.
    xxo

  6. sn

    i’m so sorry you’re going back. you will feel unbelievably speedy and efficient tomorrow. and then you’ll whip out the plastic torture device and start pumping and all efficiency will melt away. thinking of you.

  7. Nethermeade

    And how was it my friend? Day one? For you and Mr. Truck and all the family.

  8. Oh, Travelher! I came up with one more thing: PAYCHECK! Woo hoo.

    There is something to be said for bringing home the bacon.

Leave a Reply

