Babypushing 101: The Shiny New One

That’s what Cakie calls our Phil & Teds sport stroller with the doubles kit.

I’ve been drooling over this stroller for years.  At first, I was concerned that the child in the bottom seat doesn’t have a very good view, ie, his brother’s butt.  So I started to look at the kids I saw riding in this stroller.  The ones on the bottom always seemed pretty happy.  They were usually looking off to one side and seeming pretty cozy down there.  When I thought about it, I realized that the side is where you want to look anyway, because that’s where the scenery actually changes more often.

We got a sports car red one right before Trucker was born.  My mom bought it as our baby present.  (Thanks, Grandma.)

Here’s the thing, I love it, but we don’t use it as much as I’d like.

Here’s what I love:

  • AIR FILLED TIRES!  They are like butta.  They make the rocky terrain that is Brooklyn sidewalks more like floating in outer space.  The huge cracks and tree trunks don’t matter any more.  The ride is smooth and easy.  I can push with one finger.
  • Double stroller.  Ok, let’s preface this by saying that all double strollers have their drawbacks.  This one has one of the smallest footprints.  That is key for getting through the small spaces in NYC.  No, the kids can’t sit next to each other and bond. But they can’t sit next to each other and kick each other, either.
  • It’s pretty.  It is my prettiest stroller, for sure.
  • The basket is bigger than my Maclarens’ baskets.  No, that’s not saying much.  And it is difficult to access when somebody is in the bottom seat.  But still…

So why don’t you use it much?  Why indeed.

The boys don’t love it.  Cake does call it, “The shiny new one.”  He does get in and fasten himself in readily.  I don’t know why neither of them love to be in it for too long.  It could be that we have been over-ambitious about how long a time we can expect them to sit still in a stroller.

There are also a few cons:

  • It doesn’t fold easily.  In fact, I have no idea how to fold the thing.  My honey did it twice.  She’s clever, that one.
  • The basket, though biggish, could be easier to access.
  • The seat belt has four clasps!  Four!  How silly is that?  I don’t understand it.  And let me tell you, when you’re trying to get a kid to leave the playground, speed of stroller confinement is a real issue.  Luckily at this point, Cakie likes to fasten himeself in and usually recognizes when it is time to leave the playground.  Three-month-old Trucker never gives me any lip about leaving the playground, either.  But it doesn’t look good for a few months from now.

I’m going to assume that we’ve just been expecting too much in terms of length-of-ride in this stroller.  I’m going to press on with it until the boys like it as much as I do.

Next up for review: the Mac daddies — Maclaren Volo and Techno Classic XT.

3 Comments

Filed under baby gear

3 responses to “Babypushing 101: The Shiny New One

  1. alli k

    I did not buy the P&T because of the folding problem and the 4-clips problem. Also, the frame did not feel as sturdy to me as that of the Bob. But then, I only have one kid, and I was not limiting myself to in-line-double strollers.

    With my kid, I have found that the length of time he will tolerate the stroller is somewhat tied to the stroller model, but seems to be more a function of how tired / bored / cranky he is at the time of the stroller ride. The Bob’s wide seat does seem to lead to more stroller naps than the *&^%$! Bee did, but he still wants to get out of the stroller if he feels like taking a stroll himself rather than being the stroll-ee.

    I will refrain from commenting on the Volo until you publish your review.

  2. We have the Phil and Teds and I’m trying to sell it through craigslis$.com.

    I absolutely hate the brakes! When I’m wearing sandals or flip-flops I have to get on the ground to turn on and off the brakes!

    I wrote the Sales Rep in New Zealand and his response with anything but sympathetic.

    Looks like we’re going to trade this puppy in for a new Maclaren!

  3. alli k

    I love the stroller reviews. Why is it that only one other person appears to be interested in them?

Leave a Reply

