Mountains

Hey kids!

I’m on vacation with my kids, honey, mom and brother in the mountains.  I have limited internet access, so it may be a bit quiet here this week.  But keep checking.  You never know what’s going to pop out of this blog-obsessed head of mine.

So far I’ve had one sleepless night, one sleepful day and a whole lot of crankiness on my part that scares me because it makes me think my period is coming back.  That is not allowed.  Not yet anyway, please!

Going on vacation with a newborn and a three-year-old is weird.  There isn’t much to do.  I’d like to go on a little hike, but I’m not even sure if I should, being still in my last official post-partum week.  We’ll go to a lake that has a fake beach nearby.  There’s a playground down the street.  It is just weird.  Having kids changes your life and it really changes your vacations.  I can’t wait for them to be big enough to do more adventury stuff like hiking and rafting and biking.  I’ll do my best to be zen and enjoy throwing rocks into streams with them now.

Peace out, folks.

6 Comments

Filed under family

6 responses to “Mountains

  1. Enjoy the mountians… don’t worry there will be activities abounding in a couple of years I am sure.

  2. reproducinggenius

    Enjoy the mountains!

    And, yes, there will be hiking again. When I was a nanny for some friends of mine, I would take their little four-year-old boy hiking all the time. They were different sorts of hikes–shorter, slower, lots of stops to check out moss, etc.–but hikes nonetheless. Actually, now that I think about it, I used to take him for hikes wearing him in a backpack when he was just 18 months or so. I guess all this is to say that you’ll find a new, adapted enjoyment of the great outdoors in the not so distant future.

  3. alli k

    You’re right about the not-so-distant future. In another year you’ll be writing (and shedding at least a few tears) about how you can’t believe the little one is so big.

  4. nethermeade

    Hope the mountain beauty and the family time has you all all chilled out. But we miss you here in our urban playground, so scoot on home soon, k?

  5. Eh, just throw ’em in the water. Drowning, schmowning.

    What mountains are you in? And when do you get back? We want to come over to your house and feed you bagels.

Leave a Reply

