The Clomid Twins Award!

If you came here to find out how you can have/avoid having twins using Clomid, please scroll down.

Everybody else… one of the things I love about the blogosphere is the mutual admiration society. I love you! Now, love these other seven people and link to their blogs. And link to my blog. Because we all love each other. And it is true. Yes, it is very chain-lettery. Yet it does not annoy the hell out of me the way a chain letter does. I think because chain letters yield nothing, while spreading-the-bloggy-love meme-type things at least give me some hits on my blog and let me know that my invisible friends have been thinking of me.

Eggdrop my hopefully-soon-to-be-knocked-up bloggy friend gave me one such a nod by nominating me for a brillante award. I never win anything. But a nomination nod sure is sweet. Thanky, mamacita.

So, I’m supposed to nod to seven other blogs. This is not — I repeat — not a chain letter. 😉 I’m going to shake it up and nominate some of my bloggy friends who are not in the TTC / gay parenting sphere. And a few who are….

First and foremost, call it nepotism, I don’t care! I nominate goldengrrrl. She’s semi-retired. She’s vivacious. She’s in love with her GPS because it doesn’t get mad at her when she makes a wrong turn. She’s also my mom. And she’s been blogging regularly since she remembered her password and figured out how to gain access to her dashboard. For that, she totally deserves an award.

Next, I bring you my good buddy lifebelowtheline. She’s a woman at the bottom of the film industry totem pole. Literally, she’s at the bottom of a pole, a boom pole. She’s pretty darn funny. Check her out.

Wanna learn about wombats? Hedgehogs? Vet tech school? Check out danator at delectatio morosa. She never fails to crack me up. What I don’t get is how my former roommate who used to be so adverse to cleaning the litter box is now training to become a vet tech and working in zoos and whatnot. Talk about animal body fluids. Sheesh.

That was only three… hmmmm…

Ok, I’m not nominating myself here. But there are three other moms who blog with me at momtourage. They are crafty, clever, design savvy and about as bamboozled by motherhood as yours truly. Plus, I don’t blog enough there to pull my weight, so the least I could do is give the other moms a little love.

On to the IVP

I heart Chicory. I heart her so much that I’m writing a book with her, even though I never met her irl before. So I nominate her.

The mother of my future daughter-in-law (should both children prefer to court the opposite sex,) oh chicken. How could I not?

And, I’m sure she’d get lots of nominations for any kind of award, but I don’t really care. By virtue of her daughter’s cheeks alone, I’d nominate her. She got me to look at lesbian co-parenthood in a whole new light. Add her flowy academic wit to the mix and I’d say she’s pretty brilliante: lesbiandad.

Here’s the rules. BTW this seems way more meme-like than award-like. I’m noticing that I have conspiracy theory tendencies, though. And I always do snopes for any alarmist email I receive. Not that I have a problem with memes. I like ’em. Anywho, the rules:

Okay, gals, now it’s your turn:

1. Put the logo on your blog.
2. Add a link to the person who awarded you.
3. Nominate at least seven other blogs.
4. Add links to those blogs on your blog.
5. Leave a message for your nominee on their blog.

Now I’m going to do something I’ve been thinking about for a long time. See, every time I look at my blog stats — EVERY TIME — someone has found my blog by goo.goling “Clomid Twins.” They want to have twins. Or they want to not have twins. They just want to know how likely it will be to have twins should they pop this particular pill. I wrote a post about how my buddy Gwen and I both had to take Clomid at the same time, so I called us the “Clomid Twins.” Not unlike the Wonder Twins, but more moody. So I want to answer your question here. Once and for all!

Will Clomid give me twins?

(Disclaimer: I am not a doctor. I simply surf the web well and have done infertility treatments myself, so I have discussed this with a doctor. Please take this information with a grain of salt. Thank you.)

The answer? Maybe. But not very likely. If you are taking it under the careful direction of a doctor, the chances are about 10% that you will get pregnant with twins. They are even lower for triplets or more. That, and the ease of taking the drug compared to other fertility treatments, might be why Clomid is so very popular.

If you are one of the people (puzzling to me, but to each her own) who wants to have twins or more multiples, you might want to shoot for follicle stimulating hormone injections such as Menopur. They stimulate the follicles to produce more eggs. The doctor can’t really control how many eggs come out. They can cancel a cycle if there are too many eggs. Or they can adjust your dosage. But that is all. It ups your chances of twins to about 30%, according to my doctor before he prescribed it to me. That number stayed in my head for quite a while. I had to feel totally comfortable with the idea of twins before I took that first shot. And I’m not a multiple-birth seeker. They are very complicated pregnancies, more often than not resulting in c-section, always requiring an epidural, often ending in miscarriage. They usually result in pre-term births with very low birth weights and a stay in the NICU. Plus there is the after-they-are-born stuff to deal with: the expense, the exhaustion, the sheer number of diapers involved. In addition, I already had a son and I didn’t want him to have to compete with two newborns for attention. And I didn’t want to have to move to New Jersey, where we could afford a larger home. But I sat with it and I gave myself the shots with the knowledge that I have lame-a$$ eggs. I was pretty sure they would continue in their lame-a$$ way and only get one fertilized. One totally-not lame-a$$ egg was fertilized and one rockin’ baby resulted.

So that’s it, folks. My unabashed attempt at getting even more mis-directed hits on my blog, while providing some possibly-useful, if not officially-accurate information. I have no shame.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The Clomid Twins Award!

  1. vee

    Heh! It’s “aching ovaries” that bring them to our blog in droves. Maybe I could commission you to write a not-officially accurate post about those to satisfy curiosity?

  2. I love your discussion about injectables. That is exactly how I feel and I hope my results are some what similar. 🙂

  3. You go with your lame-a$$ eggs! May one of them rock.

  4. How funny! I just found your blog, not by way of clomid though ironically I wondered the same thing too, can’t wait to look around. j

  5. Thanks for nominating me, but just what is this “Brilliante” award? First of all, it sounds foreign and thus un-Amurrikan. Secondly, a Google search shows that half the blogs on the internet have it, but there is just no telling where it came from. I suspect it is either a cleverly disguised computer bug or a cult. Is Tom Cruise involved?

  6. Thank you so much for lobbing those accolades in my lap (and the laps of those other great folk, many of whom I was really glad to learn about via you).

    I’m honored to be shedding any kind of new light on anything of value.

    Now the least I can do is paste a cheeky picture of my girlie, to help illustrate, if nothing more. (And if there’s nothing following this sentence, I suppose your software doesn’t like a big ole linked image. I’m hoping yes, though.)

  7. Ooops. No. Ah well. They are cheeky. Glad you like them too.

  8. how the heck did I miss this? thanks for the love, I owe you an email. And for my blog it’s “she pooped in her pants” and other searches along the scat theme that bring the big numbers in…

  9. Haha! Well, it worked to bring ME to your blog! I get funny hits like that too.

  10. Melissa

    LOL!! It came up in google as something like “everyone finds my site from searching for Clomid Twins” so I figured why not… everyone else is doing it.

Leave a Reply

