To Do List:

  • Go to food coop. Do possible final pre-baby shop. When I dropped my honey off at work she said, “See you later. Don’t go into labor at the food co-op.” To which I replied, “Why not? There’s bound to be a midwife within ten feet!” And Gwen, who also got a lift from me chimed in, “Or at least a doula!”
  • Sit on bum in a/c.
  • Post to blog. (At least once.)
  • Upload pictures of Cakie after age 1 to internet photo site. Perhaps make photo albums for grandparents and self. Very few actual printed photos of the Cake Man exist from the past two years. Thousands are captured in my computer, however.
  • Make birthing playlist for ipod. Still awaiting suggestions from invisible friends for songs for the birthing room to purchase from internet music site. Considering adding Dixie Chix’s, “White Trash Wedding” to playlist. Baby’s on its waaaaay. Baby’s on it waaaaaaaaay. I shouldn’t be wearing white, and you cain’t afford no ring.
  • Draft chapter of non-bio mom book.
  • Give attention to cat.
  • Go into labor.
  • Give birth.
  • Floss.
17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “To Do List:

  1. bri

    My unused labor playlist included Fiona Apple’s Extraordinary Machine because that seemed perfect for the occasion, given the extraordinary thing the body was going to do.

  2. i’m loving the floss item!

  3. OK, I’ve never gone into labor and I don’t know your music tastes. However, you said you were bummed about missing Beth Orton Saturday night (I’ll be there for you and tell you all about it if you’d like).
    May I suggest, besides Beth O, Missy Higgins?
    She’s a young lassie from OZ and is fabulous. I adore Brandi Carlile and an Italian singer, Elisa.
    Air seems like calming birth music as well as the Cocteau Twins and Dido.
    Massive Attack and Faithless could be good for the deep bass beats.
    Hope this helps!

    Other thoughts, I bet “mucous plug” sounds better in French.

  4. Gee. I know the French word for plug is actually “tampon.” I’ll have to look it up because your comment made me laugh so hard. Just be glad I didn’t describe it in detail! Thanks, also for music tips. My honey just got into Brandi Carlile…

  5. nelly

    why are you missing beth orton? don’t you want to birth trucker right there on the lawn?! i’ll buy you a beer afterwards if you do.

  6. Mucus plug in French: prise de mucus

    Though it should rightfully be “tampon de mucus,” which is actually way more gross-sounding than the term in English.

    Nelly, if you be my doula, I’ll birth Trucker on the lawn at Beth Orton. That way I can cross the birth playlist off of my to do list early. And I’ll get to meet Travelher. Bri and Lo and Co can come, too. But only if you buy me the beer. Plus, much like the food coop, there will probably be at least one midwife and an spattering of doulas in the audience!

  7. See? It does sound (slightly) better in French. Everything usually does.
    I would love to meet up with you, probably not going to happen at Beth Orton but hey, you never know.
    My BF went into labor at a Massive Attack concert and just rode the waves through the bass. She said it was awesome.

  8. Hmmmm… come to think of it, I don’t think my honey will be game for me pushing out the baby in the middle of Prospect Park.

  9. Born at the Right Time, of course. (Paul Simon, Rhythm of the Saints.)

  10. You could totally find a midwife at the coop. 🙂 I hope you get everything on your list done, and I am finding myself checking your blog everyday to see updates. I am going to think about music for you – I have an Ani song in mind that she wrote for her daughter’s birth. I will come back with it.

  11. amy

    totally expected a labor post. damn!!

  12. Heather

    How exciting! I never knew when I lost my plug…I don’t know why. I always looked though!

    Tick Tock Tick Tock

  13. bon iver and over the rhine and some radiohead for pushing and your neighbor sufjan and ms harmer etc etc. (see my list :))

    i had so much fun making the playlist!

  14. nelly

    how about “hot in here” by nelly (the other one). lyrics are most appropriate for birth:
    “Cuz I feel like bustin loose and I feel like touchin you (ah, ah)
    And cant nobody stop the juice so baby tell me whats the use

    (I said)
    Its gettin hot in here (so hot)
    So take off all your clothes

    [woman’s voice]
    I am gettin So hot, I wanna take my clothes off

    Oh

    Let it hang all out”

    !!!

  15. I love the fact that you’re making lists right now. It’s simply fabulous. Girl, since you dig Beth Orton, I would have to recommend Mary McB*ride for the birthing pod. I hope you can cross off that major “to do” in the near future.

  16. Good one! We might actually have that cd around here somewhere. I did put on that one: Oooops, there goes my shirt, right over my head, Oh my!

    Also: Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t my Baby?
    It goes:
    I’ve got a man who’s always late.
    Every time we’ve got a date,
    But I love him, Yes I love him.
    I’m gonna walk right up to his gate,
    See if I can get this thing straight,
    Cause I want him,
    And I’m gonna have him!
    Is you is or is you ain’t my baby?

    It kind of describes Trucker who made us wait a year and a half just to exist inside my body.

  17. starrhillgirl

    If you’re giving birth in Prospect Park to Beth Orton, I’ll totally get off my ass and out of Starrhill to be there and be the back-up dula. Because that shit sounds fab. The next train leaves tomorrow at 7 am – I can be there by mid-afternoon.

    My song suggestions are any Patti Griffin from Impossible Dream – because the whole vibe is so mellow. And this song by a local girl that I’ll try to post on my blog – something I’ve been meaning to do for a while now. If it doesn’t work, I’ll try to email it to you. Or maybe I’ll do both.

    Cakie’s restaurant sounds delightful.

Leave a Reply

