Heels Over Head

This baby is head down! Hurrrah! Hurrah!

I got to see the white halo of his head. I saw the small curve of his calf. I saw his boy parts. They were very proud boy parts. I told him to stop showing off.

Ultrasounds are weird. They are black and white and not-very realistic. Yet… you feel this rush of love when you see the little baby parts. Even if the ultrasound is going right through his face making him look like Skeletor.

I felt especially connected to him when I discovered that a part under my left boob that I thought last night was a foot, was actually a foot. Really, even though the person is inside your body, it is nearly impossible to tell which part is which. The butt feels just like a head. Whose butt feels like a head, I ask you? For some reason seeing that foot made me feel like I knew him a little better.

This ultrasound was a little on the down low. My midwife simply “borrowed” the machine for a minute and did a quickie. So I didn’t get any pictures. I don’t know if he’s measuring ahead or behind or anything. But I do know the exact whereabouts of his foot.

6 Comments

Filed under Third Trimester!?!

6 responses to “Heels Over Head

  1. nethermeade

    Fabulous news dear. Hope to see you Sunday.

  2. Co

    Hurray for head down!!!

  3. What a good little baby, getting his feet up in the air. I will be doing extra check-ins the next couple of days.

  4. reproducinggenius

    Head down is a beautiful thing. I’m so glad he rotated!

    The last time my sister visited–when I was taking her pregnancy photos–she was having me feel the baby, and she said, “I think this is her foot.” Feeling that foot from the outside made me suddenly connect to my niece. It was such a weird and beautiful thing. It’s so great that you were able to see your little guy in all his glory and know just how he’s positioned. So, so cool.

  5. reprogenius!

    I get it. Those pictures were of your sister. If you could please come to my house and take some of me, I’d be much obliged. They really are stunning. Then I’ll take some preggo ones of your family soon. Soon and soon.

  6. reproducinggenius

    Thank you for the comments on those photos. I would love to come take photos for you. It was a blast doing those shots of her. I set up a studio in my guest room; we had costumes and music–very fun. I’m telling you, if I lived anywhere near the east coast, I’d be there in a flash.

Leave a Reply

