Dear Thoughtful Colleague or Passerby:

I know in my heart of hearts that it really is quite sweet and thoughtful of you to say, “How are you feeling?”  It means that you are recognizing my huge belly and the fact that it is probably making me feel a certain way. I do feel incredibly happy about being pregnant.  I do.  It was hel1 getting here.  And I am grateful for your acknowledgment of the current state of my body.

Yet… I get the feeling that you don’t really want an answer.   I last week, when I had not slept and I thought I cracked my rib from coughing so hard and yeast had pretty much taken over my entire body, my response was, “Great.  Thanks for asking.”  This week, I’m just too tired to lie.  So if you ask me how I’m feeling, I will start on a rant (luckily the yeast has gone back to its normal balance!) about how tired I am.  I am dog tired.  Bone tired.  Give-a-dog-a-bone tired.  I’m tired and surprised.  (I will tell you this, as well.)  I was not expecting to be more tired in this trimester than I was in the first.  I was expecting discomfort.  I was expecting to be out of breath.  But I did not expect that I would be too tired to cook.  Too tired to walk to work.  Too tired, even, to open the can of cat food for the recently-turned-good cat who just decided to stop waking me up every night at 4 am for no good reason. I’m sure my honey is tired of hearing about this particular tiredness. And I’m annoyed at this fatigue because I know full-well from prior experience that it is nothing. NO-THING compared to the tired I will feel once this baby comes out.

I will tell you all of that.

Then you will look at me, as several people have so far today, and smile sheepishly, and say, “Well it won’t be too long now.  And then you’ll be really tired.”  I will try to chuckle.  Weakly.

I would like to suggest as an alternative comment: “Wow.  You look great.  You don’t even look pregnant from behind.”  It would be better for you to lie than for me not to.

XOXOXO,

thebigbelliedsleepysleepyoneofhismoms

PS I’m 8 months (32 weeks) pregnant today.  How cool is that?  Belly pictures TK soon. ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…..  Gay marriage decision reversed in CA… yay! zzzzzzzZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzz…

2 Comments

Filed under Third Trimester!?!

2 responses to “Dear Thoughtful Colleague or Passerby:

  1. Ha! I fell asleep in an elementary school cafeteria full of students during my 3rd trimester. My kids had to wake me up.

  2. Just the other day, I was wondering when I’d go from feeling like the Very Special Pregnant Lady and being flattered and touched when people ask “How are you feeling,” to just being annoyed by the question.

    Thanks for providing the answer 🙂

Leave a Reply

