Betty Sue’s Got a New Pair of Shoes

I don’t know about you, but when I get a new pair of shoes, if I love them, I regress.  I become a seven year old.  I can’t stop looking down at them.  I check myself out in store windows and any shiny surface.  I stand in a way that will hopefully get other people to bask in the glory of the shoes.

That’s kinda what it is like with this baby bump.  It is weird because it doesn’t feel like it sticks out that far.  So I have to keep looking down to see it.  I need to make sure it is really there.  As I walk down the street, I can’t stop looking at my profile in every window.  Who’s that pregnant lady?  Look at her cute dress (thanks, Nelly) and that bump?  Adorable.

But you know how sometimes new shoes hurt?  Since I can’t feel my skin actually out that far, sometimes I forget that it is so big.  Just doing an everyday chore is like trying to park your mom’s new minivan for the first time.  So I burnt the baby.  I mean, my belly.  I was cooking baked ziti.  We keep the casserole dishes in that high shelf above the oven, because we don’t often make casseroles.  So there I am, boiling ziti in my big pasta pot.  Then I reach up over the pasta pot to try to fetch said casserole dish.  Boing!  Burnt belly.  I forgot it was there.  It doesn’t help that I now have less than half the brain cells I started with seven months ago.

It was so hard to get pregnant, that even with this big belly, sometimes it is hard to believe it is true.  No,  I’m not just standing in a maternity clothing store with one of those fake baby bumps on.  There’s a very kicky, very real dude in there growing and growing.  With one foot into my third trimester, I am both humbled and obnoxiously self-centered.  I guess that’s not entirely new.  But these shoes are.  Cute, right?

4 Comments

Filed under Third Trimester!?!, TTC

4 responses to “Betty Sue’s Got a New Pair of Shoes

  1. tbean

    I’ve heard so many ttcer’s say that once they are pregnant, even third trimester pregnant, they _still_ can’t really believe that it worked and it is happening to them! I imagine I’ll feel the exact same way. Hell–y’all probably feel that way about Cakie still half the time!

  2. plump

    oooh…I can’t wait until I have that belly bump too! The 7 year old with new shoes analogy is perfect! I’ll be just like that, I’m sure.

  3. AWW cute. This post reminds me of something Micky Rooney would do in h is report each week on 60 minutes.

    I carried my son’s in my hips. NOt belly persay. They didn’t stick out as much as I wanted them too but I was wearing maternity clothes almost as soon as I learned i was pregnant! PROUD mama!

    I avoid my profile these days but I remember what it felt like to carry my little dude*s around with me. I absolutely loved being pregnant !

    Enjoy!

  4. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you really realize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my website =). We will have a link change agreement between us

Leave a Reply

