Bookish

Writing a book is a bit of a time suck.

I mean, a good one.

I sit down with a goal and the next thing I know, several hours have passed.  And I’m just writing the proposal.  In addition to doing lots of interviews (I have a goal of 40, but if I can do more, I will.)  I suppose I should do some actual research.  Who knows when I’ll be able to make it to a research library.  I will.  But for now, if any of you happen to be GLQBTQ (Any other letters I’m missing?) academics and you know of any queer parenting studies you have particularly enjoyed, let me know about them, eh?  It isn’t exactly research, but it comes closer to research than, say, watching tv.

My buddy the literary agent, who also happens to be a gay dude, sent me an example of a non-fiction book proposal to use as a model.  What is the book about, you ask?  How to give a good hand job.  Thanks. It may not be the most useful information for me, but least it wasn’t boring.

So, you know, my book is a guidebook for the non-biological lesbian mom.  I re-read a few of the essays from Harlyn Aizley’s Confessions of the Other Mother last night.  Though I’ve heard it so many times I almost have it memorized, Judy Gold’s schtick about becoming pregnant for the first time with the second child (her partner gave birth to the older child) always cracks me up.  One part of the essay has been cracking me up all day.  While she’s pregnant, someone asks her if this is her first child. She says, “No, the second.”  Then the woman asks if the first pregnancy was easy.  To which she responds, “Oh, the first one was a breeze.”

2 Comments

Filed under LGBT, My Book

2 responses to “Bookish

  1. Alayna

    Hi there,
    I keep meaning to comment and not actually doing it, so here I go! My wife and I have a 17-month-old son (birthed by me) and a daughter coming in June (to be birthed by her). Since we’ll both be bio- and non-bio moms of our kids, we’ve got lots of thoughts on the subject and would love to be interviewed for your book. I think you can contact me via this comment, or you can do it through our blog at http://pdxgirls.blogspot.com

    Thanks and good luck with everything!

  2. I can only imagine how hard it must be. I’ve wanted to write a book since college. Let’s just say I haven’t gotten anywhere on that.

    I’m sure your final result will be awesome~

Leave a Reply

