Your Electric Kitchen

So you want my butterscotch brownie recipe, eh?

That’s funny, because I meant to blog about this on my other blog when I happened upon the recipe.

When we were in New Mexico visiting my dad, I stumbled upon a little treasure called The Electric Cookbook: Your Complete Guide to Cooking Electrically by Marguerite Fenner.  Check out the cover.  That’s me in the blue dress… just imagine her with red hair and clunky shoes under that apron:

img_0574.jpg

I bought it for 50 cents in a used bookstore.  In the front, there was a hand-typed library card.  Apparently the book was published in 1959, and borrowed once in July of 1968.  Not a big hit for the Hillsboro, NM public library.  But I love it.

This book has been planned and written especially for you — the homemaker whose first interest is in her family, who loves to please her husband and children, whose heart grows warm when the like what she cooks.

It both makes me glad I was born in the early 70’s and it has a great brownie recipe, not to mention a recipe for “Coffee for 50” to be made in your electric roaster, and several recipes that seem to unnecessarily include olives and/or horseradish, like “Hamburger Heaven.”  Wait, you have to hear this part of the introduction, “There’s Great Joy In Living Electrically,”

 For the homemaker, electricity takes the “work” out of housework.   A constant supply of hot water takes care of dish and clothes washing, done automatically, with plenty left over for showers and baths.  And regardless of weather, clothes tumble dry in fresh, warm air which fluffs out the wrinkles, saving much ironing.

So the next time you’re dreading that laundry, just thank goodness for the electricity that makes it possible to dump those bitches in the machine and go back to reading your blog feeds for another 20 minutes!

Without much furthur ado, the recipe:

BUTTERSCOTCH BROWNIES

Cream 1/4 cup butter; add 1 cup brown sugar (packed) and 1 egg, mixing well.  Combine 3/4 cup sifted flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon salt; stir into creamed mixture.  Add 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I don’t do that part.  Why add healthiness to a purely sugary delight?) and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.  Spread in well-greased and floured 8-inch square pan.  Bake in 350 degree F. oven for 20 to 25 minutes.  While warm, cut into 16 squares.

Eat at least three squares with some milk before your midwife calls you back with glucose screen results. Since I’m home with a sick Cakie today, and I have yet to hear from my midwife, we have a little electric cooking to do!   Enjoy.

6 Comments

Filed under nothing at all, Second Trimester

6 responses to “Your Electric Kitchen

  1. I have many old cook books that I absolutely adore, mostly for the text and photos than the actual recipes themselves, so I totally get this post:)

  2. PS — I took my own personal glucose test. See, I “forgot” to call my midwife today. And as far as I know, she has not called me. But I ate so many brownies, that if I indeed had gestational diabetes, I would be in diabetic shock right now. And I’m not. I’m just thinking of how one more brownie would hit the spot.

  3. i am making a batch of The Brownies as i type this… i have never made brownies before in my life, so they could be scrapped to the garbage in a few moments when they are done… i decided to get a little crafty and added real butterscotch morsels. and chopped pecans just for fun.

    if i can ever get a post to post since WP re-worked the dashboard and all, i have before cooking photos and will take after ones too…if they survive.

    i am taking them to work tonight ~ ER people will eat anything!

  4. Silvie

    I grew up with this recipe book at home. My sister and I learned to bake from my mother with this book. Our favourite recipe is Chocolate Wagon Wheel Cookies – the best chocolate cookies I’ve ever had! They are very chocolatey and very chewy. We used to make the butterscotch brownies too which were also excellent.

    If you are able to publish the wagon wheel cookies I would be forever grateful!

  5. Pingback: Wagon Wheel Cookies « oneofhismoms

  6. Silvie

    Wow. Thanks! I’m so glad I found you. This is great. I really appreciate that you took the time to do this. I’ll make some tonight.

    I was just scrutinizing the front cover – if I’m not mistaken the boy on the front just took a wagon wheel cookie from that big bowl 🙂 I’ll be doing that soon myself!

    Thanks again,
    silvie

Leave a Reply

