By George, I Think He’s Got It!

I’ve been wanting to explain the whole impending big brother thing to Cakie for some time, but I also wanted to wait until he initiated the conversation. He started by falling in love with some babies. Nelly also gave me three really good “I’m a big brother” books. Cake fell in love with the books as well. So the other night while I was holding Baby S, and Cakie was calling her a “cutie-cutie,” I asked him if he wanted a baby. He agreed. So I said, “Well, it is going to take a long time, but Mommy is making a baby for you right here in my belly.” He just looked at me and walked away.

3677.jpg

So I wasn’t sure if he really got it, even though one of the books he loves is a lift-the-flap book with cutaway diagrams of pregnant bellies among other things, like suitcases and watermelons. Then yesterday, he ran and gave me a big hug, placing his head gently on my big belly. Then he pointed down at the pregnancy magazine on the couch and said, “Dat Mommy!” Yeah, he wasn’t just pointing at any old pregnant lady, either. Apparently, my belly bears a striking resemblance to that of pregnant volley-ball star and model, Gabrielle Reese. I love my son.

So I think he’s got it. He’s also begun to say, “I a big bwother.”

7 Comments

Filed under my son

7 responses to “By George, I Think He’s Got It!

  1. sn

    my belly looked like that three days ago (with the significant caveat that i’ve never been remotely tall, blonde or skinny) and then pooched out many more inches today. these growth spurts are wacky. and yes, it’s also wiggly and kickarifik (fantastic words, thanks!)

  2. Lo

    Oh, that is really too cute!! Big bwother!

  3. Lo

    P.S. I tagged you, come check it out.

  4. reproducinggenius

    It definitely does sound like he’s got it. How wonderfully adorable!

  5. So cute. Your son is a star. Kudos for handling the telling so well. ox

  6. Oh my gosh. How freaking cute is that.

  7. that is too much cuteness, right there!

Leave a Reply

