The Best Day

What is my new favorite holiday? Christmas? No! Kwanzaa? Uh-uh.

It is Eid Al Adha. Am I muslim? No. Do I get to go to lots of friends houses and get tons of money from them while I eat their food? No. But my students do. EIGHT of them did today. So I had a class of ten students. Ten! Ten little cherubs. Don’t get me wrong, I love all of my kids. But oh what a beautiful thing to be able to give all of my attention to half of them. It was like an early vacation. Aaaahhhhh.

AND I had a little Eid Al Adha miracle, as well. The financial lady from my first-choice midwives’ office, I’ll call them ABC midwives, called me to discuss the finances in case a spot opened up. I sweet-talked her. I told her about how we had our childbirth classes for my partner’s birth in her office and I had a soft spot for them. I think I kind of begged. Anyway, less than an hour later, I get this message on my voicemail, “This is C from ABC midwives, we’ve managed to work a little magic and to secure a spot for you for July. (GASP from me!) But you must attend our orientation on January 2.” Oh. My. God. I will soooooo be there! Thank you god and allah and the great spirit and the ocean and the trees and the freakin’ goddess of parking spots. I have a midwife.

Now I just have to figure out how to pay for her.

3 Comments

Filed under First Trimester, teaching

3 responses to “The Best Day

  1. Maybe you can sacrifice a goat and give her some of the meat?

Leave a Reply

