6 Weeks

Yo, people!

Tomorrow I will be 6 weeks pregnant!

I was astonished to find that even before I had had any sperm in me, I was pregnant for two weeks.  If you just got your period, you too are considered pregnant by silly doctors and people who know nothing about their ovulation all around the world.  Crazy, right?  So when you find out you’re pregnant, after your two-week wait, you are considered four weeks pregnant.

I don’t mind the folly, actually, because those first two weeks went awfully fast.  And I had some wine, even.    I am especially excited about the fact that I will officially be half-way to my twelve week mark.  That’s when  a normal person who doesn’t have to tell the universe about every ache and pain on her blog would be telling her friends and family.  Me?  Half of them know already because of the blog.  It just makes me a little nervous. After 12 weeks, the pregnancy has a much much better chance of going to term.

I am happy that I have made it thus far without any sickness.  I have the weird food aversions (coffee?  candy???) and I am pretty much thirsty 24 hours a day, but that is it.  I hope I’m not bringing on the nausea just by posting this.  But I am pretty pleased about it.

My due date according to the Dr. Mug is July 13.  My due date according to me is July 9. (My cycle is shorter than that wheel thingee says.)  But my real due date according to me, since Cakie came three weeks early and my friend A’s baby came two weeks late is “sometime this summer.”

Book note:  I spoke with my friend who is a literary agent.  He seems to think I’ll have a hard time publishing the non-bio mom guidebook.  I don’t care.  I just need to write it.  So if I do interview you, don’t get too disillusioned! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under First Trimester

7 responses to “6 Weeks

  1. i would highly recommend self-publishing and self-whoring at all the gay fambly places. i am confident that it will grow and grow from grassroots.

    and congrats on 6 weeks and no nausea. i am jealous. very jealous. can’t believe you want coffee either. it smells good but tastes like death to me right now. boo.

    pretzels and cream cheese however…mmm.

  2. six weeks already! wow! time is flying so fast, probably even faster for you!

  3. yes, the first two weeks are an absolute breeze! By the time you find out you are prego for sure = 1 whole month! time flies (at first.) Glad you aren’t having any ill symptoms. Fingers crossed that it stays that way!

  4. Did I tell you that you could interview me? That, in fact, if you need any help I’d be happy to offer it? Cause I meant to.

    And, PS — congrats on the 6 week mark!

  5. Femeros

    I just found your blog and I have to say that without even reading any further, please, please publish a non-bio mama book! I’m having such a hard time finding resources and role models for me. Blogs are even few and far between. I’m thinking about buying “Confessions of the Other Mother” – but, I can’t believe it’s the only book out there for “us.” So, you go girl!! I’ll buy a copy!

  6. That pregnancy math thing always threw me off too. 2 weeks pregnant before you are pregnant? WT???

    Anyhoo – not that I want you to be late, but July22 is a GREAT birthday.

  7. BTW – I am TOTALLY on board with you writing a book. I will be interviewed and will buy copies to give to everyone I know when it’s published!

Leave a Reply

