update

I’m still pregnant.

Things seem to be going strong. Beta doubling, etc.

I have to keep saying I’m pregnant to myself.  It does not feel real yet.

This is partly because I have not felt sick much at all.  My mother says she never got much morning sickness, so I’m happy, rather than worried.  Though I swear, I’ve felt much more pregnant on some of my two week waits than I do right now.

I am pretty astonished every time I go to the bathroom and my period is not there.

The most pregnant I felt was yesterday.  As mentioned in an earlier post, I no longer crave or want sweets.  If you know me IRL, you understand just how very strange this is.  Yesterday, two of my former students came to my classroom bearing cupcakes.  Mini ones.  I didn’t want it.  Did I take it?  Yes.  Did I eat it?  Yes.  Why?  Who the hell knows.  But I got instant, INSTANT heartburn.  It didn’t go away until this morning.  I learned my lesson.  I’m only going to eat things I want to eat from now on.

I’m pregnant.

12 Comments

Filed under First Trimester

12 responses to “update

  1. thank you for the update! i was going to email you…

    have thought a lot about you and the wee one 🙂

  2. Hey lady, get used to that no-period thing!

  3. Glad your feeling good. Sorry about the heartburn though 😦

  4. amy

    absolutely amazing! congrats!!! i too am a sweets junkie and the mere sight of chocolate in my first trimester was just weird. i rarely if ever go even a day without chocolate typically so i can relate to how weird the feeling was. i too got heartburn when i tried to buck the system and eat it out of habit. the good news is the cravings will come back, with a vengeance ; )

  5. I’m so glad to hear that things are going well!

    I don’t know whether to hope I’ll have that same aversion to sweets when my time comes, or not.

    On the one hand, it would probably be a good thing. On the other hand, “Oh my God, if I don’t want to eat chocolate – I won’t be able to eat chocolate!”

  6. I love reading your story. I can’t wait to be where you are to “still be pregnant”, may I ask what was different this time that it took? Thanks so much and best of luck to you ladies!!

  7. I am so happy for you. I was watching my baby girl (who is now eighteen) nap the other day and the covers were up to her face and her little face looked like she was three again. I know this is cliche but I really wasn’t prepared to have my heart live outside of my body after giving birth, but it does.

  8. It definitely takes a while to set in. Congrats again!

  9. so glad things are going so well.

  10. Bri

    Do whatever you can to avoid the heartburn. Mine came on with the first pregnancy and didn’t go away until I delivered the second. Even that in between, non-pregnant 4 month period – heartburn. Every day, now that I am done with pregnancy, I am grateful to not have heartburn.

  11. Take care off yourself (and the little one) and lay off the sweets!

    😉

Leave a Reply

