My Pants Are On Fire!

I’m no Abe Lincoln, people.

I totally lied to you.

I did a test yesterday.

I saw a ghost.  A ghost of a second line.

It was such a faint line that I felt happy, but was too nervous to scream or jump up and down or any of the other things I always thought I’d do.  My honey confirmed that, yes, she too saw the ghost.  I even put the stick up in my medicine cabinet and looked at it from across the bathroom.  I could still see it.

We decided to try again.

So I held my pee in and didn’t drink for a long time last night.  I peed on a new, different brand of stick.  I got a new, even fainter ghost.  I did it again this morning.  Another little pink ghost.

So I’m totally thrilled and relieved.  Whew.

But I also feel a little in denial.  The good thing is, I got blood drawn for my beta after work.  The blood lady wrote STAT on the form and highlighted it.  I thanked her.  My doctor will let me know tomorrow morning if I’m seeing ghosts or if an actual amorphous being is growing inside me right now.

I feel a little trapped by the blog.  I love it and all of you invisible people.  But I do feel obligated to tell you the news.  I also felt like I should call my friends IRL who read the blog because I didn’t want them to just find out via the blog.  But every time I say it out loud I feel a little more nervous.  Like I should really be not telling people yet. (I’m Jewish.  We’re a superstitious people.  But, you know,  I won’t reject any early gifts or baby showers!) So I didn’t call all of my friends who read the blog.  (Sorry!)  Because before I get the beta results I really don’t want to say it any more.

Thank you so much for helping me get through this.  Trying to get pregnant has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  Yes, I’ve had a pretty easy life.  You guys have made the trial much much easier.

XXOOXXOO!!

32 Comments

Filed under Waiting and waiting and...

32 responses to “My Pants Are On Fire!

  1. OMG!!! OMG!!!!
    A faint line is a line…it’s a line…and that means…OMG!
    Congrats! I know you want to wait for the beta, but Congrats anyway.

  2. alli k

    And now the journey begins….

  3. You sneaky minx!! HOW EXCITING.

  4. Lo

    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    As they told me and C…… A LINE IS A LINE IS A LINE!!!!!!!!!!!

    We’ll give you all the books back!!!!!!!!!

  5. Lo

    P.S. we need pix of this faint line. NOW.

  6. Woo Hoo!!!

    I’m in suspenders waiting for the outcome of your beta.

    I totally hear you about feeling obligated to report to the blog vs making an “announcement” to people in the real world.

    I’ve had the same conversation in my head every month.

    I haven’t had to actually worry about it yet, as I’ve not seen any lines.

    I’m 11/12 days post-IUI and had a negative pee stick this morning (which I’ve not yet reported on my blog – you heard it here first) but still have 4 days til my beta, so I’m holding out hope, at least for another day or two.

    I’ll keep everything crossed for both of us – that your beta confirms your pee stick and that my pee sticks change their minds over the next couple of days!

  7. This is very encouraging news… out of deference for your superstitio– WHOOP!!!—

    oops, sorry, that just slipped out. Totally didn’t mean to start celebrating before you got your — YEE HAWWW!!! —

    shoot, there I go again. I’m just excited for you.

  8. heather

    I am just so stoked! I am reading/writing from my phone because I couldn’t wait any longer! may you have a safe boring pregnancy.

  9. okapimama

    Yaaay! I am so happy for you! I have been readiing and sending you fertile vibes. Pink lines are the best! Lots of love to you, A. and Cakie.

  10. oooooooh. i am so happy. best of luck with the beta. and congratrulations on a line!!!

  11. tbean

    I knew it! I knew it!!!!

    CONGRATU—-(I’ll write the rest after the phone call tomorrow) 🙂

  12. Co

    Um… a line is a line, honey. I want to see it. Scan that pee stick… please!!!!!!!!

    Can’t wait for your beta results tomorrow. You have to post on the earlier side. You have to.

  13. Co! Thanks for commenting. I thought you were on hiatus. The unfortunate reality is that I am a teacher who does not have internet access at work. Sorry I can’t post on the early side. I also don’t have a scanner. I don’t think my lame-o camera can capture the ghost.

  14. Lo

    Well come scan it at our house then. We like pee on our scanner

  15. nelly

    yay yayayayayay!

    just think – now that you’re pg, you can finally stop going to the dr’s office. once a month is going to feel like nothing!

  16. Same insem date, same ‘find out’ date, same due date perhaps?

  17. eek! how exciting! good luck with the beta 🙂

  18. vee

    Oh wow! Fantastic! (Even though we’re not to say anything, right?)
    Bring on the Beta. Bring on 9 healthy months. Bring on the baby.

  19. Delurking to offer some more cheer – how exciting!!!

  20. I am glad you are no Abe Lincoln. I need some inspiration.

    😉

  21. Big congrats! I love this news!

  22. Goldendrrrl

    I’m on pins and needles waiting for you to get the results of the blood test, going between utterly thrilled, and then telling myself to wait until you have the results. I keep on thinking about how nice it is for Cakie to be the king of the castle, a role he will need to relinquish, but how good it will be for him to have a sib. He’ll always be the king, the big brother, it’s the sharing thing, that’s so difficult. I hope that’s what he will be doing very soon, July, perhaps.

  23. Sarah

    wow – thats great great great.

  24. So, nu? How long until the full results?

    You’d better not have a ghost baby, dammit. That would be spooky.

  25. reproducinggenius

    Oh wow! Wow! I am keeping my fingers crossed that the blood test confirms the news that shall not yet be uttered. I so hope this is it for you!

  26. Pingback: Two-Week Wait Advent Calendar #2 « oneofhismoms

Leave a Reply

