Well, duh.

TS Eliot has some great quote about once you’ve looked long and hard for something, you’ll find that you already found it when you started.  Here it is:

We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.

I found something yesterday. It made me chuckle a bit and almost cry a little, too.

Sitting atop one of the many piles of crap that has accumulated in my bedroom since construction on my kitchen started was a paper from the nurse at my RE’s office. The heading read, “Your Ovarian Stimulation Cycle.” Hmmm. I just did that. Maybe I should look this over one more time. I’ll copy for you word-for-word the third paragraph. It answers a lot of questions I had last cycle (and actually last night):

The common side effects of these medications may include exaggerated symptoms of your menstrual cycle: abdominal bloating, breast tenderness, mood swings, slight nausea or fatigue.

There you have it, folks. I am the kind of person who reads things when they are given to me. Especially when they are in regard to my health or financial well-being. Apparently, I don’t retain much. I have known all along why my boobs hurt. And now I know why this cycle I am tired, cranky, bloated and have tender brea$ts. All of those symptoms were not as bad today, though, since I knew why I was having them.

PS I found a bunch of other Eliot quotes that tickled my fancy.  Even though he was anti-semetic, I just can’t help but appreciate the guy.  Here are my two favorites:

As things are, and as fundamentally they must always be, poetry is not a career, but a mug’s game. No honest poet can ever feel quite sure of the permanent value of what he has written: He may have wasted his time and messed up his life for nothing.

and

The most important thing for poets to do is to write as little as possible.

PPS Can you tell that I discovered the block quote function on my blog today?

3 Comments

Filed under blogitty blog blog, the big guns, Waiting and waiting and...

3 responses to “Well, duh.

  1. reproducinggenius

    Loving the Eliot quotes (I can’t believe I never noticed the block quote feature before!) and the last one especially is one I’ve always enjoyed.

    Last month, when I was pretty sure my insem timing had been all wrong, I decided to consider all symptoms PMS, and once I did, they were so much less significant, but for a few moments, when I allowed myself to entertain some optimism, it was like I had turned the volume up on my symptometer. This TTC game is a crazy one.

  2. i love Eliot. there was this totally dreamy and simultaneously gritty quality to his work i loved while i was in my tortured-english-student phase. and we use that first quote about exploration for an essay question pertaining to the Odyssey on our freshman finals. despite this, i still love it.

  3. How perfect are the Eliot quotes!

Leave a Reply

