Cakie Talk

You know how people say that toddlers speak in a way that only their parents can understand?  My son (who I call “Cakie” on this blog) is just learning to speak.  He has a knack for saying words with slight variations which actually make them sound like other words.  I’ve decided to illustrate this in a very second-grade teacherly way by putting the Cakie version of a word in context with words he doesn’t know yet, to see if you can figure out what they actually mean.  In some cases, I will follow up with actual context in Cakese.  At the bottom, I will make an answer key revealing the true meaning of Cake’s words.  All original Cakie language will appear in italics.

1. If you mix yogurt with fruit and milk, you can make a boobie. 

1a. “I waaaannna boobie.  I waaanna boobie.  More more boobie.”

2. An alcalaylee is a Hawaiian instrument that looks likes a small teetar.

2a. “Alcalaylee! Alcalaylee! (Pointing to small instrument) No alcalaylee, teetar!”

3. You need to boil a big pot of water to cook tata.

4. An ememememen point is often used at the end of a sentence that is a command.

5. Openit openit! Is a catch-all phrase which loosely translates as “Do what I want right now.”

5a. “Openit openit shoes.”

I will finish up with Cakie’s abridged version of the ABC song:

ABCDEFG  HIJK  muhnumummmumumuP muumnumumnumP munununmumumu Peeee!  QR XY ah Z now mah oh Mah ABC Eh Uh woo chu mumununumunu P!

Answer key: 1. boobie = smoothie 2. alkalaylee = ukelele, teetar = guitar 3. tata=pasta (His favorite tata is orthzo) 4. exclamation point 5. depends on the Cakie context.  Sometimes it actually means open it.

PS Day 4 po.  Fake pregnancy symptoms continue to annoy me.

5 Comments

Filed under my son, teaching

5 responses to “Cakie Talk

  1. Lo

    1) I got them all except “tata.”
    2) My 20 month old cousin is obsessed with “gars” and points them out at every opportunity. (Car. Though, also, every vehicle.)

  2. jay

    1) Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

  3. That’s so cute!

    I got the ukelele/guitar one, but I think I may have cheated, because it sounds familiar from a previous post. And “exclamation point” – actually, I think Cakie’s is the superior version and I move that we should adopt it throughout the English speaking world!

    Language acquisition is just fascinating. Why, for example, when he could pronounce “balloon” perfectly, did my nephew insist that grandad was going in a “hot-air baboon”?

  4. the “boobies” one definitely threw me off. that is hilarious!! i definitely laughed out loud and spit at my computer screen a little =)

  5. stumbled upon your blog today… loved it!

    Added you to my roll… have a great day!

Leave a Reply

