No Rockin’ Hula Luau

I’m not a good liar.  Let’s just get that out there.  My principal is great in many ways, but she is known for being uncouth about people’s pregnancies.  I don’t really want the powers that be to know yet that I’m trying to get pregnant. So when I had to call in to work this morning to tell them I’d be late because of my ultrasound, I couldn’t do as my neighbor suggested and tell them a filling fell out.  I decided to say that I had a private medical matter I needed to fix.  Since I didn’t know about this ultrasound until Saturday, I couldn’t give them any notice.  I was mortified when I called and the principal herself picked up the phone.  Oye!  I blurted out my rehearsed line and hung up.  But, yikes.  That was unexpected and weird.

Where does the pollen go?But the ultrasound was good.  Doc says we’ll inseminate on Wednesday at 4 pm.  Wednesday just happens to be the last day of school.  Contrary to popular belief and Grease 2, the last day of school is not a luau.  For me it is the most stressful day of the year.   I’ll just have to make this one calm and do my best to keep all of my bodily functions as tranquil and smooth-running as any other day of the year.  Yay!  I’m really excited for this cycle.

No more Cakiedonorsperm has been sold back, so I’m going with some new schmo.   Which schmo?  I don’t yet know.

This is how weird I am.  While I was “waist down” naked in the doctor’s office and waiting for him to show up, I pulled down a gestational wheel from the wall.  If this cycle works, the baby’s due date would be March 20.  That’s right on the cusp of Pisces and Aries.  Now, I’m not a big astrology buff, but I am a homo. When I lived for a summer in Provincetown right out of college, “What’s your sign?”  Was the second question asked of a person.  The first was “What’s your name?”  The third was, “Are you gay?”  Always.  Restaurants had been known to hire waitstaff according to the zodaic signs of their current employees. So, I guess some of that stuck with me.  Yesterday, when A looked at the computer and looked at me with a smirk on her face and said, “Why does the computer have a website about the compatibility of Aries on it?”  I had to fess up and tell her I’d been over-thinking the outcome of this cycle by seeing if the baby would be astrologically compatible with the rest of the family.  If she is born early, she’ll be compatible with A and me.  If he comes a little late, he’ll be compatible with Cakie.   Ok.  Now I’ll stop projecting.

Last thing… I need to give myself the trigger shot on Tuesday night.  I’d appreciate any expertise or advice those of you experienced injection folks have to offer.  XOXO

2 Comments

Filed under LGBT, my hon, my son, teaching, TTC

2 responses to “No Rockin’ Hula Luau

  1. Co

    Yikes about the donor sperm. If you place your order today or tomorrow, can it get sent tomorrow to arrive in time by Wednesday? That’s so soon, but I’m so excited for you!

    How big was your follie? If that’s too personal, skip it. I am just curious.

    Advice about the trigger? It’s not scary, but you may not believe that until it’s over. Do you have a prefilled syringe or do you have to fill it yourself? Mine was prefilled and all I had to do was let it get the medication to room temperature, tap the needle to get air bubbles out, squeeze it until a drop came up to the needle, swab a location about 1 inch to either side below my naval, let it dry and then Lo injected me. There was an online video for my trigger shot which I watched on the web. Also the nurse at my R.E.’s trained me. It seemed so scary the first time, but it was really nothing.

    Good luck.

  2. Stick it in and push the plunger – jeesh!

    So is it going to be any old shmo as the donor? I bet that would be cheaper. Just go to a club with a back room and bring a beaker…

    OK, I think I even grossed myself out that time.

Leave a Reply

