Happy New Year

Teachers have two New Years every year: the January one and the school year. The last day of school is like New Year’s Eve. (Party!) The first day of school is like New Year’s Day. (Hung over, but hopeful.)

Every year around now, I make a list of resolutions. I never thought of it like this before, I’ve always just called it my summer ‘to do’ list. You kind of need a summer to-do list when you’re a teacher because everyone’s always asking you what you’re doing this summer. But it pretty much is a list of resolutions, because much like my New Year’s resolutions, they don’t always go according to plan. I’ve had many a hearty belly-laugh when stumbling across a summer list in the fall.

The year I was the best at doing my list was when A was pregnant. I had a real deadline. So I actually painted the baby’s room and I actually bought a crib, etc. Since Cakie came three weeks early, we didn’t actually get to go on the pre-baby weekend get-away I was hoping for, though. If you’re pregnant with your first kid, get cracking on that weekend get-away now!

Anyway, I thought I’d just write my list here for a handful of strangers and friends. That way it will seem more real and I’ll have some virtual pressure to do them. I’ll also make it more realistic, with only two items.

1. Get my lazy out-of-shape body back in shape. This means regular yoga classes, biking and walking with Cakie, doing the little at-home workout book I bought at least a few times a week, and eating less crap. I don’t have a weight issue. I’ve been lucky enough to have a very high metabolism. But my body is so weak, I don’t even know if I could handle the physical stress of a pregnancy, let alone the physical stress of having two kids. I was winded at my class picnic after playing freeze tag for two minutes. I had to lay down! So that’s my first goal. To be more healthy.

2. Clean and organize our closets. Not very glamerous, I know. In a big city like mine, in which many rooms are the size of closets, we are very lucky to have an apartment with many, very large closets. Unfortunately, they are almost unusable because of the disorganized mounds of junk we manage to throw into them on a regular basis. It is nice because they give the rest of the house the illusion of not being so cluttered. But they are a serious chi-flow-killer and they must be tamed!

I’m not going to put “get pregnant” on my list because that would just curse the whole process. But like Tina in the L Word (I’m going to quote a line from the pilot that got me thinking…these women are nothing like my women) I’m going to “quit my job to prepare my body for pregnancy.” Who quits their job to work out? Not most Brooklyn dykes, but I do have the summer to pretend.

What would you do if you had the summer off?

2 Comments

Filed under teaching

2 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Lo

    I have a list of my own, which I have tried to keep realistic. For example, rather than, “make the office a place where we can work and the baby can sleep,” I have written “measure the office.” We’ll take it from there.

    Your New Year’s analogy/metaphor is apt: my kids looked at the clock today and started counting down. At the top of their lungs. All the way from 60 seconds to zero…

  2. Pingback: bellydancing on the floor « oneofhismoms

Leave a Reply

