I Know Which Came First

It was the egg, damnit.

This afternoon I took my second grade class on a trip to the Wyckoff Museum, the oldest house in New York City originally built in 1652. The kids were so adorably inquisitive. I told the museum educator that I wanted her to emphasize how life was different before people could buy things at the store, or order take-out. Their questions went something like this:

Educator: How do you think the Wyckoff family got their meat?

child A: From cows and sheep and pigs and chickens!

Educator: Where do you think they got other kinds of food?

child B: From the garden!

child C: But where did they get the seeds?

Educator: Well, some food like blackberries grew wild. Other food has seeds in it. You know, like when you bite and apple and you see the stuff inside?

Child C: But where did THOSE seeds come from?

Me: Well, the first Dutch settlers got their corn from the Lenape people who already lived here.

Child C: But where did the Lenape get their seeds?

And so on…

When we got back to school and we were discussing the trip. We were talking about how some of the farm animals were a constant source of food. The cows provided them with milk and butter. What did the chickens give them?

child D, calling out: Right, Ms. M? When you eat an egg you’re eating a baby chick?

Me: No, not unless it is fertilzed. Lots of eggs are just eggs. (Sigh.)

child C, also calling out: What’s fertilized?

Me: It is something the rooster does to make the egg into a chick. (Can I not get away from TTC for a minute?)

“Lots of eggs are just eggs.”

Like all my little unfertilized eggs which slid down my fallopian tubes and ended up in the trash can. I found the answer to the eternal question. The egg came first. Lots and lots of “just eggs.” For me, assuming I’ve ovulated every month since I got my period for the first time in autumn of my fourteenth year, that’s 248 eggs. Yikes.

1 Comment

Filed under teaching, TTC

One response to “I Know Which Came First

  1. Co

    Yeah, it sucks that even with the small children, you can’t escape TTC talk. The inquisitive conversation is pretty amusing to read though.

Leave a Reply

